CIO of the Year finalists announced

CIO of the Year finalists announced

Emerging IT Talent and Excellence in IT Recruitment finalists also named.

Four CIOs are in the running for the CIO of the Year award. They are:

Michael Collins, chief information officer, Otago Polytechnic

Ken Holley, head of technology, Localist

Russell Jones, chief operations officer, ASB Bank

Matt O'Mara, chief information officer, Careers New Zealand

The 2011 CIO of the Year Award, sponsored by NetApp, celebrates the success of an individual CIO - but also recognises the efforts of the whole team. Last year’s winner was Mike Foley, information services manager, Auckland Council who was cited for his work at Watercare Services.

The winner will be announced at the CIO Summit, 27-28 June at SKYCITY Convention Centre, Auckland.

The winners of two other awards – Emerging IT Talent and Excellence in IT Recruitment - will also be announced at the gala dinner on June 27, the first day of the Summit.

The finalists in the Emerging IT Talent award are:

Amber Craig, senior designer, Telecom New Zealand

Connon Daly, manager, The IT Team, Hairy Lemon Web Solutions

Daniel McKenzie, developer, Trade Me

The inaugural Emerging IT Talent award is sponsored by Hudson ICT and recognises and encourages the exceptional ICT talent of professionals under 30.

The finalists in the Excellence IT Recruitment Award are:

Candle New Zealand



The award, sponsored by ITCRA, considers factors such as customer service, ethics, training and innovation. The award is partly judged by CIOs. The 2010 winner was Absolute IT.

Join the CIO New Zealand group on LinkedIn. The group is open to CIOs, IT Directors, COOs, CTOs and senior IT managers.

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.
Show Comments